TribesNext

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


TribesNext >  TribesNext.com Forums >  Support >  Getting Tribes 2 to Work in Serria Macintosh Devices « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Getting Tribes 2 to Work in Serria Macintosh Devices
wwalsh01
Nugget
Posts: 6

View Profile
June 25, 2017, 02:24:24 PM »
Hey guys wwalsh01 here and I was wonder how I would get the awesomeness of Tribes 2 working on the devices stated in the title. http://portingteam.com/index.php/files/file/6424-tribesnext-tribes-2/ That's the link I'm currently using and I'm trying to use Wine to run the thing.

If you guys could be so kind as to give some fixes or alternatives that would be fantastic. My current problem is installing beyond direct 8x and finding the installation folder so I can find the files. The files I'm using are Tribes 2.gsi. and the tribes next patch for windows I thought I could run through wine.

Cheers wwalsh01
Thyth
Apotheosis Incarnate

Posts: 792

View Profile
1: June 25, 2017, 07:58:59 PM »
I've tested this a few months ago on mac OS Sierra (on a 2014 MBA) with Wine 1.8.5 from Homebrew, and it works fine.

Follow the instructions here: http://www.tribesnext.com/forum/index.php?topic=2095.0

Everything installed by Wine will be in under the .wine directory in your user's home directory. If you're not using the terminal command line (like you should), dot prefixed directories are hidden by default in the Finder, but you can use Command-Shift-. to show them temporarily.

Sarcastic, narcissistic, genius, resurrecting the game with brilliant strokes of wizardry.
wwalsh01
Nugget
Posts: 6

View Profile
2: June 25, 2017, 08:34:47 PM »
I've tested this a few months ago on mac OS Sierra (on a 2014 MBA) with Wine 1.8.5 from Homebrew, and it works fine.

Follow the instructions here: http://www.tribesnext.com/forum/index.php?topic=2095.0

Everything installed by Wine will be in under the .wine directory in your user's home directory. If you're not using the terminal command line (like you should), dot prefixed directories are hidden by default in the Finder, but you can use Command-Shift-. to show them temporarily.

Ah thank you for the instructions.
wwalsh01
Nugget
Posts: 6

View Profile
3: June 26, 2017, 02:46:25 PM »
I've tested this a few months ago on mac OS Sierra (on a 2014 MBA) with Wine 1.8.5 from Homebrew, and it works fine.

Follow the instructions here: http://www.tribesnext.com/forum/index.php?topic=2095.0

Everything installed by Wine will be in under the .wine directory in your user's home directory. If you're not using the terminal command line (like you should), dot prefixed directories are hidden by default in the Finder, but you can use Command-Shift-. to show them temporarily.

You're instructions were excellent, now I'm trying to get Solo and Lan working fine. The online play as far as I know is blocked on school servers. The wine version is 2.0.1 and I can launch the game up to the first menu on the online shortcut, but I can't run Solo and Lan as they are the following in the folder: "Tribes 2 Solo & Lan.Lnk" and "Tribes 2 Online.lnk". Do you have any solutions to this problem as the computer does not have a application to run these shortcuts. Do you have any ideas on how to get the shortcuts working?

Cheers wwalsh01
Thyth
Apotheosis Incarnate

Posts: 792

View Profile
4: June 27, 2017, 07:08:28 PM »
Run: wine start file.lnk

You can also run Tribes2.exe with the -nologin command line flag (for solo and lan) or -online command line flag (for online mode). E.g.: wine Tribes2.exe -nologin

If you're playing offline, you don't need to install the TribesNext patch.

Sarcastic, narcissistic, genius, resurrecting the game with brilliant strokes of wizardry.
wwalsh01
Nugget
Posts: 6

View Profile
5: June 27, 2017, 08:40:47 PM »
Run: wine start file.lnk

You can also run Tribes2.exe with the -nologin command line flag (for solo and lan) or -online command line flag (for online mode). E.g.: wine Tribes2.exe -nologin

If you're playing offline, you don't need to install the TribesNext patch.

Ok thank you, how do I put those commands to the shortcuts? I'm rather new to Mac Serrira .
wwalsh01
Nugget
Posts: 6

View Profile
6: June 28, 2017, 07:10:23 PM »
Run: wine start file.lnk

You can also run Tribes2.exe with the -nologin command line flag (for solo and lan) or -online command line flag (for online mode). E.g.: wine Tribes2.exe -nologin

If you're playing offline, you don't need to install the TribesNext patch.

The game is running and it works fantastically, you are a saint! Do you know how to get rid of this grid on the landscape? Other than that, that's perfect.

Cheers
wwalsh01
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

irc.quakenet.org / #TribesNext Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2005, Simple Machines