Tribes 2 NEWB

I am very new to tribes, I just played it for the first time last night, and well... I SUCK.

What is some good advice for a newb? i cant kill anybody with my weapons or anything

Comments

• Go through the training missions in LAN.
  • Start a server with bots in the game, and play against the bots for a while. You can adjust them to be stupid or smarter, so you can progress. Read the manual to see just how to start a server.
  • Bots will only get you so far, however. For one, they don't adapt practically at all, whereas live players might figure out that "oh, there's a mortar turret spamming that path, maybe I shouldn't take it anymore". Not to mention that bots probably won't ever stray outside the mission border unless they're dead set on hunting you down (like for Rabbit or something).

I've tried a bot mod that enabled them to use vehicles, but that just ended up being complete chaos, and not in the good live-game way. I'm talking four bots all spawning shrikes and then failing to pilot them out of the hangar.

I've run a 16-bot server, highest difficulty, but I have a better experience trying to get past my own defenses than anything the bots could set up.

My advice would be to join a heavily populated server and just ride it out. Find your sweet spot, the role you perform the best, and try to improve that as much as possible. If you go out looking for scripts or skins and such, I'd advise testing them in a bot server before live testing, just so your team doesn't start screaming at the n00b that's just standing there configging scripts.