TribesNext

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


TribesNext >  TribesNext.com Forums >  Support >  Automatic Affinity Solution « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Automatic Affinity Solution
Craig
Global Moderator

Posts: 17

View Profile
January 09, 2009, 11:54:59 AM »
---------------------------------------
Solution 1 Suggested by: 404notfound, Cat
---------------------------------------

Step 1: Download Imagecfg from here: http://www.robpol86.com/files/imagecfg.exe

Step 2: Place imagecfg.exe into your gamedata folder;
Default is    C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GameData

Step 3: Go To Start > Run then Type in Cmd



Step 4: Type in     cd C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GameData



Step 5: Type in     imagecfg.exe -a 0x1 Tribes2.exe



Step 6: Run the game and enjoy non jittery gameplay!!






---------------------------------------
Solution 2
---------------------------------------

Step 1: Download http://www.leweyg.com/download/Affinity.exe

Step 2: Place it into your C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\Gamedata\

Step 3: Create a new shortcut named play that goes to the Tribes2.exe (Dont forget the -online at the end) It should look something like this :
C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\Gamedata\Tribes2.exe -online


Step 4: Create a new batch file with the following contents
Code:
@echo off

del .\base\scripts\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\autoexec\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\packs\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\turrets\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\vehicles\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\weapons\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1

del .\Classic\scripts\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\autoexec\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\packs\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\turrets\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\vehicles\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\weapons\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1

start affinity.exe play.lnk

cls
exit

Step 5: Create a shortcut to that batch file and put it on your desktop

Step 6: Enjoy!
« Last Edit: August 09, 2010, 07:54:09 AM by Eolk »

Cat
Nugget

Posts: 22

View Profile WWW
1: January 09, 2009, 11:59:37 AM »
Or if you are using Vista you can use:
start /affinity 01 tribes2.exe

No irc related signature here.
Slayer1
Nugget
Posts: 41

View Profile
2: January 09, 2009, 11:22:34 PM »
setting affinity is useful, if you have issues with dual core processors and T2.  since I have a dual core processor, and we've also tested a quad core processor, I am guessing that from the results, limiting to one proc is not a solution to anything.

IF you are going to do this anyway, I strongly recommend choosing secondary processor, and using SMPseesaw to make tribes 2 the ONLY thing (other than system-mandated services) running on that processor.  Yes, you heard right.  SMP seesaw pro (free) can dedicate a processor to solely one task or process.  This means that if you are going to "waste" time on locking affinity, you can at least maximize performance while doing so.

I like the batch idea, But SMP see saw is only like 3 mouse clicks to use.
404notfound
Nugget

Posts: 3

View Profile
3: January 11, 2009, 03:58:08 PM »
So i took some time to find a solution and have found a way to automatically startup tribes2.exe under only one processor.

What's the advantage of doing all this compared to the much simpler method of using ImageCFG to modify the T2 executable?
Cat
Nugget

Posts: 22

View Profile WWW
4: January 22, 2009, 04:45:19 PM »
What's the advantage of doing all this compared to the much simpler method of using ImageCFG to modify the T2 executable?
I approve of this, ImageCFG helped me play System Shock 2. it is *the* ultimate solution.

No irc related signature here.
teratos
Assault
Posts: 899

View Profile
5: January 23, 2009, 07:55:35 PM »
I have a batch on the desktop:

Code:
CD C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GamdeData
start /affinity 1 /abovenormal Tribes2.exe -  online -mod Classic

That's just a text file with those two lines named T2_online.bat

"Enjoy the rest of your sad elitist life as I will pursue helping gamers in this gamer generation, and perhaps you will develop an unstretchable itch in the knowledge that people like you mean very little to me, or anyone else with strong care in anything that they pursue."
 - sgtvindetta
Cat
Nugget

Posts: 22

View Profile WWW
6: January 25, 2009, 06:56:01 AM »
start /affinity 1 /abovenormal Tribes2.exe -  online -mod Classic
That only works on Vista

No irc related signature here.
Faile
Nugget
Posts: 1

View Profile
7: January 29, 2009, 06:39:56 AM »
if you're running x64 windows, imagecfg is no longer the ultimate solution. ( patched image wont start )
Shizuka
Assault

Posts: 545

View Profile
8: January 29, 2009, 07:57:34 AM »
imagecfg fixed all my graphics and major stuttering problems on my desktop Vista (32-bit) box. Though it feels slightly more... jagged would be the description I guess, if there's a lot of people on screen, it's definitely worth it.

The above is Shizuka Kamishima.
Why not?
Turkeh
nil

Posts: 458

View Profile
9: January 30, 2009, 10:26:44 AM »
Unstickied, and FAQ-ified here.

Read the FAQs!

Search before posting support requests.
MrSleep
Nugget
Posts: 8

View Profile
10: April 07, 2009, 04:29:34 PM »
With Vista 64b, Q6600 @ 3GHz, 8GB RAM, 9600GT

Online and Solo games are the same.

Set the affinity to cpu core 1 - not much improvement
added the auto exec script - same.

With out the Tribes Next patch I was getting typically 200-300 fps.
With the patch I'm very jittery, my frame rate has dropped to 50-65 fps and I'm totally screwed when I'm in a melee where I go from jittery to massive shot lag etc.

Thanks for any help.
-Sleep

Doh!  I am running Vista SP2 RC - didn't affect the regular Tribes 2 - but maybe there's a problem with the service pack  Undecided
MrSleep
Nugget
Posts: 8

View Profile
11: April 21, 2009, 11:21:03 AM »
I get the same jitter problems on my wife's system (XP SP3, 2.4GHz Core2Duo, 7600GT, 2GB RAM).  So - I dunno what's going on  Cry
Shizuka
Assault

Posts: 545

View Profile
12: April 21, 2009, 11:59:21 AM »
Tried setting it to the other core?
Did it have issues when affinity wasn't set at all?

The above is Shizuka Kamishima.
Why not?
MrSleep
Nugget
Posts: 8

View Profile
13: April 21, 2009, 06:56:45 PM »
Tried setting it to the other core?
Did it have issues when affinity wasn't set at all?

Only tried it with affinity set to cpu1 and affinity set to cpu1&cpu2.  I may just try setting up an older system that I have that I used to play T2 on (w/XP) and see where that gets me.
HAMMOND AIGZ
Nugget
Posts: 3

View Profile
14: August 25, 2009, 09:43:59 PM »
My friend is experiencing the same problem. He tried the task manager affinity route (dual core pentium D) to no avail. Also tried to add the .cs file mentioned in the FAQ.

Will the other core specific fixes have any other effect? Or do they all do the same thing.

Thanks in advance...
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

irc.quakenet.org / #TribesNext Powered by SMF  © Simple Machines
anything