TribesNext

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


TribesNext >  TribesNext.com Forums >  Support >  Server Support >  Server Setup « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: Server Setup
Threatcon
Nugget³

Posts: 91

View Profile WWW
January 18, 2009, 05:50:59 PM »
A post specifically about hosting a T2 server should be stickied somewhere.  How to setup and host your own dedicated server, optimizations and such.  Maybe some common map packs.  Just an idea  Grin

If it already exists, sorry I missed it.

Blakhart
Juggernaught
Posts: 1629

View Profile
1: January 19, 2009, 03:05:55 AM »
An example serverprefs.cs:

Code:
$Host::AdminList = "12345\t65734\t76345643";
$Host::AdminPassword = "adminpasswordgoeshere";
$Host::allowAdminPlayerVotes = 0; //1 here will allow admin voting
$Host::AllowMapScript = 1;
$Host::AllowMPBTeleporter = 0;
$Host::BanTime = 1800000;
$Host::BotCount = 14; //how many bots u want
$Host::BotsEnabled = 1; //1 if u want bots, 0 if not
$Host::ConnectLogging = 1;
$Host::CRCTextures = 1;
$Host::Dedicated = 1;
$Host::FloodProtectionEnabled = 1;
$Host::GameName = "nameyourserverhere";
$Host::HiVisibility = "0"; //do not set this to enabled 1, it always crashes the server eventualy
$Host::holoName1 = "Storm";
$Host::holoName2 = "Inferno";
$Host::holoName3 = "Starwolf";
$Host::holoName4 = "DSword";
$Host::holoName5 = "BloodEagle";
$Host::holoName6 = "Harbinger";
$Host::Info = "yourcoolmessagegoeshere.";
$Host::KickBanTime = 30000;
$Host::LoadTR2Gametype = 0; //keeps from loading rabbit, clients join faster
$Host::Map = "Sanctuary";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsAbominable_CnH = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsAgentsOfFortune_TeamHunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsAlcatraz_Siege = "-1 48";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsArchipelago_CTF = "16 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsAshesToAshes_CnH = "16 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsBeggarsRun_CTF = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsCaldera_Siege = "-1 48";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsCasernCavite_Bounty = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsCasernCavite_DM = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsCasernCavite_Hunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDamnation_CTF = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDeathBirdsFly_CTF = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDesiccator_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDustToDust_CTF = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDustToDust_Hunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsDustToDust_TeamHunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEquinox_CnH = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEquinox_DM = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEscalade_Bounty = "16 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEscalade_DM = "16 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEscalade_Hunters = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEscalade_Rabbit = "16 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsEscalade_TeamHunters = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsFirestorm_CnH = "-1 24";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsFirestorm_CTF = "-1 24";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsFlashpoint_CnH = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsGauntlet_Siege = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsGehenna_Hunters = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsGehenna_TeamHunters = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsIcebound_Siege = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsInsalubria_CnH = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsJacobsLadder_CnH = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsKatabatic_CTF = "-1 48";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsMasada_Siege = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsMinotaur_CTF = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsMyrkwood_DM = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsMyrkwood_Hunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsMyrkwood_Rabbit = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsOasis_DM = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsOverreach_CnH = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsQuagmire_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRasp_Bounty = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRasp_TeamHunters = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRecalescence_CTF = "16 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRespite_Siege = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsReversion_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRimehold_Hunters = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsRiverdance_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsSanctuary_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsSirocco_CnH = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsSlapdash_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsSunDried_Bounty = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsSunDried_DM = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsTalus_Bounty = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsThinIce_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsTombstone_CTF = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsUltimaThule_Siege = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsUnderhill_Bounty = "-1 32";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsUnderhill_DM = "-1 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsWhiteout_Bounty = "8 -1";
$Host::MapPlayerLimitsWhiteout_DM = "8 -1";
$Host::MarkDnDObjectives = 1;
$Host::MarkHybridObjectives = 0;
$Host::MaxBotDifficulty = 0.99; //.99 is as tough as they get
$Host::MaxMessageLen = 120;
$Host::MaxPlayers = 32;  //total players allowed, bots included
$Host::MinBotDifficulty = 0.99; //no one wants stupid bots, set to .99
$Host::MissionType = "CTF";
$Host::NoSmurfs = 1; //if enabled (1) denies smurfing, no fake names allowed
$Host::PlayerRespawnTimeout = 60;
$Host::Port = 28000; //can be set to any port above 1024 and below 65535 not in use
$Host::PureServer = 0; //this was an effort by sierra to make all pure servers exactly the same, set it to 0
$Host::RandomMissions = 0; //set to 1 if you want a mission to be selected at random
$Host::Siege::Halftime = 20000;
$Host::SuperAdminList = "123321"; //set this number to your guid
$Host::SuperAdminWhois = 1;
$Host::TeamDamageOn = 0; //durr
$Host::TeamName0 = "Unassigned"; //do not mess with team names
$Host::TeamName1 = "Storm";
$Host::TeamName2 = "Inferno";
$Host::TeamName3 = "Starwolf";
$Host::TeamName4 = "Diamond Sword";
$Host::TeamName5 = "Blood Eagle";
$Host::TeamName6 = "Phoenix";
$Host::TeamSkin0 = "blank";
$Host::TeamSkin1 = "base";
$Host::TeamSkin2 = "baseb";
$Host::TeamSkin3 = "swolf";
$Host::TeamSkin4 = "dsword";
$Host::TeamSkin5 = "beagle";
$Host::TeamSkin6 = "cotp";
$Host::TimeLimit = "30";
$Host::TN::beat = 3;
$Host::TN::echo = 1;
$Host::TournamentMode = 0;
$Host::VotePassPercent = 60;
$Host::VoteSpread = 20;
$Host::VoteTime = 30;
$Host::warmupTime = 20;

The following can be placed into autoexec folder (with any name, such as auto.cs) that can be used to adjust packet rates:

Code:
$pref::Net::PacketRateToClient = "20"; //determines how many packets per second sent to each client
$pref::Net::PacketRateToServer = "32"; //may determine how many packets are allowed from each client
$pref::Net::PacketSize = "256"; //size of each packet sent to each client, maximum.has no effect on size of packets client send to the server


setlogmode(0);
// leave this set to zero unless you are coding and need a log it will make a huge file...!!!

$logechoenabled=0;
//set to 1 you can now see game details in console.  Thanks to tubaguy.

SetPerfCounterEnable(0); //server stutter fix
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 03:08:22 AM by Blakhart »
Phantom139
Scout

Posts: 262

View Profile WWW
2: January 19, 2009, 06:39:12 AM »
$Host::TeamName0 = "Unassigned"; //do not mess with team names

You can mess with the team names, It will just affect some settings in game.

Bio:
Founder/Creator Phantom Games Development.
Tribes 2 Modder, T3D Owner and Developer
Site:
www.phantomdev.net
Jaffa
Nugget

Posts: 30

View Profile
3: January 19, 2009, 07:22:18 AM »
Does anybody have a list of admin commands or links to decent admin mods which work?
Threatcon
Nugget³

Posts: 91

View Profile WWW
4: January 19, 2009, 07:27:55 AM »
http://www.maxogc.net/misc/tribes/tribes2/Tricon%202%20for%20Tribes%202/
Tricon for Tribes 2

I'll find a readme sort of file and dump it in there to explain how to install it correctly.

Eolk
Global Moderator
Posts: 838

View Profile
5: January 19, 2009, 08:34:16 AM »
I don't suggest TriCon. It's buggy and has some security holes.
Blakhart
Juggernaught
Posts: 1629

View Profile
6: January 19, 2009, 09:21:45 AM »
Tricon is very stable, and the latest version has no security hole that I know of, the admin hole was patched in the last release.
Threatcon
Nugget³

Posts: 91

View Profile WWW
7: January 19, 2009, 09:41:24 AM »
Thank you all.  This is the kind of stuff I was talking about.

Wasn't there some sorta fix for the flickering or lag in the server that the latest "Official" patch didn't address or was created by the latest patch?

Blakhart
Juggernaught
Posts: 1629

View Profile
8: January 19, 2009, 10:03:55 AM »
SetPerfCounterEnable(0); //server stutter fix
Threatcon
Nugget³

Posts: 91

View Profile WWW
9: January 19, 2009, 10:16:17 AM »
SetPerfCounterEnable(0); //server stutter fix

Does this go in serverprefs.cs?

**Edit...
I see it now in auto.cs in the above post by Blakhart
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 12:43:33 PM by Threatcon »

Thyth
Apotheosis Incarnate

Posts: 803

View Profile
10: January 19, 2009, 10:50:13 AM »
Tricon is very stable, and the latest version has no security hole that I know of, the admin hole was patched in the last release.
<insert diabolical laughter here>

Sarcastic, narcissistic, genius, resurrecting the game with brilliant strokes of wizardry.
DOL
Guest
11: January 19, 2009, 10:54:33 AM »
Oh Dear...Thyth might hurt somebody.

RUN!!!                               RUN!!!                                   RUN SOME MORE!!!!!
Eolk
Global Moderator
Posts: 838

View Profile
12: January 19, 2009, 02:59:33 PM »
Tricon is very stable, and the latest version has no security hole that I know of, the admin hole was patched in the last release.
When I downloaded the latest version of TriCon, and, immediately, I noticed these things:
* I was unable to kick or start a vote to kick. TriCon thought I was trying to hack it.
* I saw this "encryption" system. That's stupid. Why not just check if the person is an admin instead of allowing public admins to achieve tricon admins status through a little know-how? The admin flagging stuff is handled by the server anyway.
Blakhart
Juggernaught
Posts: 1629

View Profile
13: January 19, 2009, 04:54:04 PM »
Mine works fine, dunno why others have issues with it. You have to read the manuals and take some time getting it all sorted. And if you want to see buggy, try tricon for t1.
Threatcon
Nugget³

Posts: 91

View Profile WWW
14: January 20, 2009, 05:29:09 PM »
Let's see the command line options now for Windows based OS's...

Code:
Tribes2.exe -dedicated -mod base++

Is it possible to specify...
bot count
port
ip
config file name
more??

Pages: [1] 2 3 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

irc.quakenet.org / #TribesNext Powered by SMF  © Simple Machines