TribesNext

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?


TribesNext >  TribesNext.com Forums >  Support >  When using jet pack I get a static sound sometimes ???? « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: When using jet pack I get a static sound sometimes ????
FaLLGuY
Nugget
Posts: 12

View Profile
January 27, 2018, 10:58:45 AM »
Just wondering if anyone else gets this. Don't know if its a thing to live with or can be fixed.
Ragora
Seņor Nugget

Posts: 221

View Profile WWW
1: January 27, 2018, 02:15:07 PM »
It's an old bug with T2's sound code. Various sounds (not just the jet pack) can become corrupted like this.

Though, I'm not aware of any way to address it.

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." - Supposedly Einstein
Krash
Administrator
Posts: 261

View Profile
2: January 28, 2018, 01:13:16 AM »
If I had to guess, I'd imagine it's some buffer/compression artifact connected to the rate the audio driver is updated, but I haven't looked into it at all.  I had noticed it occurring regularly on my laptop a few years back, but rarely if ever encountered the same issue on my desktop.

You might try dropping IndirectSound in your GameData directory and changing the provider to DirectSound3D in the in-game settings.  This is basically a DirectSound->XAudio2 wrapper that'll fake a hardware provider, so you can have an alternative to the Miles positional driver and theoretically have marginally better support through Microsoft's sound libraries.  The game engine is still responsible for interfacing that driver and updating the audio sources, so it might not help at all, but it's worth a shot.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2018, 01:34:24 AM by Krash »

FaLLGuY
Nugget
Posts: 12

View Profile
3: January 28, 2018, 05:32:12 PM »
If I had to guess, I'd imagine it's some buffer/compression artifact connected to the rate the audio driver is updated, but I haven't looked into it at all.  I had noticed it occurring regularly on my laptop a few years back, but rarely if ever encountered the same issue on my desktop.

You might try dropping IndirectSound in your GameData directory and changing the provider to DirectSound3D in the in-game settings.  This is basically a DirectSound->XAudio2 wrapper that'll fake a hardware provider, so you can have an alternative to the Miles positional driver and theoretically have marginally better support through Microsoft's sound libraries.  The game engine is still responsible for interfacing that driver and updating the audio sources, so it might not help at all, but it's worth a shot.

Installed it we'll see what happens. Thanks!  Smiley It doesn't do it all the time but it can get annoying when it does.
ColonelBlair
Nugget
Posts: 12

View Profile
4: January 28, 2018, 08:56:49 PM »
I would try pressing Ctrl + Alt + Delete, opening the Task Manager, going to the Processes window, right-clicking the Tribes 2 process and then setting the affinity to one core of your CPU.
FaLLGuY
Nugget
Posts: 12

View Profile
5: January 29, 2018, 04:37:14 PM »
I would try pressing Ctrl + Alt + Delete, opening the Task Manager, going to the Processes window, right-clicking the Tribes 2 process and then setting the affinity to one core of your CPU.

I remember doing this before for the game to run good in the past. Maybe with my 5960X it might have some effect on the game...lol. I"ll give this a try also.

Thanks!  Smiley
Blakhart
Juggernaught
Posts: 1625

View Profile
6: January 29, 2018, 11:39:34 PM »
If I had to guess, I'd imagine it's some buffer/compression artifact connected to the rate the audio driver is updated, but I haven't looked into it at all.  I had noticed it occurring regularly on my laptop a few years back, but rarely if ever encountered the same issue on my desktop.

You might try dropping IndirectSound in your GameData directory and changing the provider to DirectSound3D in the in-game settings.  This is basically a DirectSound->XAudio2 wrapper that'll fake a hardware provider, so you can have an alternative to the Miles positional driver and theoretically have marginally better support through Microsoft's sound libraries.  The game engine is still responsible for interfacing that driver and updating the audio sources, so it might not help at all, but it's worth a shot.

The above methodology is Blakhart approved.
FaLLGuY
Nugget
Posts: 12

View Profile
7: February 02, 2018, 02:41:51 PM »
If I had to guess, I'd imagine it's some buffer/compression artifact connected to the rate the audio driver is updated, but I haven't looked into it at all.  I had noticed it occurring regularly on my laptop a few years back, but rarely if ever encountered the same issue on my desktop.

You might try dropping IndirectSound in your GameData directory and changing the provider to DirectSound3D in the in-game settings.  This is basically a DirectSound->XAudio2 wrapper that'll fake a hardware provider, so you can have an alternative to the Miles positional driver and theoretically have marginally better support through Microsoft's sound libraries.  The game engine is still responsible for interfacing that driver and updating the audio sources, so it might not help at all, but it's worth a shot.

The above methodology is Blakhart approved.


It seems to be working ........... Thanks guys!  Smiley
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

irc.quakenet.org / #TribesNext Powered by SMF  © Simple Machines