Counterstrike / Team Fortress 2 Vs Tribes 2

edited June 2009 in General Discussion
Well, I've been playing Tribes 2 for a while now since 2005, so 4 years. On the Miami Vehicle Servers of course back then, I will a little late picking up the game. The game is good for its teamplay, strategy, weapons and of course, the jetpack. The steep learning curve made it even more fun, as you could spend hours on the game and still be terrible. I'm even below average today.

A lot of my friends play shooters like CS and team fortress. It seems very very popular among the PC shooting community, having communities of like.... 10x or more so greater then the tribes community back in 2005-6?

Tribes 2 players say those games are a pile of filth that nobody should play. As not have played them myself I don't know. But going on public opinion, the learning curve is supposed to be too simple and the lack of teamwork / skill involved puts tribes 2 players off it.

However, with those games the basic learning curve may have been a gem of those. The fact that a player could jump into it straight away as an excellent generic shooting game (correct me if I'm wrong) means that it attracted a huge community of PC gamers.

But with Tribes 2? I'm not sure what happened as if this game is better then those that I have mentioned, then I am not sure why it doesn't have an equal or even greater community of players but not only this everyone in the PC community has a rough idea of what TF2 and CS is but not tribes 2. Why is this?

And also, with Sierra and Dynamix, why did they give up on such a great game if it has an addicting and perfect concept?

Also why are the rip-offs tribes 2 (Correct me if I'm wrong) like Battlefield 2 and Team Fortress 2 more popular then Tribes 2 if those games don't have such a perfect formula like Tribes 2 had.