Be GOOD at capping, not necessarily grabbing.

Awright, I've been pretty annoyed at how the teams I play on loose 409 to 410. Thus, I have an idea. Remember, this is entirely opinion and I'm not submitting anything as facts.

Flag caps: worth 105 points-ish (variable)

Flag GRABS (on stand): MINUS ONE POINT

Admittedly, this won't be put in the game or anything. It's just an idea. Plus, it would mean that the people who do flag runs where the flag isn't returned will have more points than the people who keep touching it and dying.

Comments

• grabs don't matter

never have, never will

only total noobs think they do
  • if a grab will get the flag to where my mates are so they can cap, im gonna grab
  • edited July 2010
    grabs don't matter

never have, never will

only total noobs think they do

I don't really care much for grabs, either. The point I'm trying to make is that people making grabs, dying immediately, and the flag returning to the stand GETS THE TEAM POINTS FOR GRABBING. Which I have a problem with, because it takes no skill to touch the flag and die. Yet doing this could win the match (see above regarding 409 vs 410). Yes, I see its effectiveness regarding tie breakers, but it goes in the wrong direction. People who make "perfect/semiperfect" runs (grab and cap without the flag being returned/ grab-die-pass-cap) don't get as many team points as the people who go one at a time in an eight man chain capping and dying and getting the flag returned one right after another. A team that does that could have a score of 450 compared to your score of 404. I don't think that's right.
    if a grab will get the flag to where my mates are so they can cap, im gonna grab

You go right ahead and do that. It's the one point you get for grabbing and dying that annoys me.
  • i kinda agree with you that grabs shouldnt count pointwise but it is an indicator of effort when each team has the same caps but not grabs
  • edited July 2010