lagishness?

Alright, so I have this problem with my game of lag (best I can describe it) that seems unrelated to my ping. My ping runs typically from 50-80s. I don't know what causes this issue and I tried the jittery issues thread with no results. I figured I would just deal with it and play on, as it isn't that big of a deal. But some whiner in Goon Haven called me a cheater over it so I figure I should get it sorted out. Most of the time this lag thing results in my death though and I haven't seen any benefit by it. Also, it especially happens when I'm initially targeting flag carriers. I have missed a ridiculous amount of shots on flag carriers due to this issue.

Shift is my fire button and enter is my jet pack putton. That is what I used when I started playing over a decade ago, so it is sort of ingrained at this point. I use vista now, but I don't imagine this causes the specific problem since it happens a small fraction of the time.

The only script I have is the script the helps you sort the scripts. After I downloaded and installed that one I decided I didn't really want scripts, so I have no others. The problem has been happening since day one of installation of the game and would be unrelated to this script.

What should I do? Thanks for any help!

Comments

• edited December 2010
    Further, almost everytime I grab the flag there is an lag shortly after.

Edit: After playing a bit paying attention to the lag it actually does it all the time, but it bothers me most in relation to the flag!
  • is there anything else running when playing t2?
  • Norton 360 seems to be the only notable.

Apparently there is a firewall here and I didn't even notice it lol. I'm making the assumption this is the problem. I changed the access from custom to allow for tribes 2. I will check to see if that changes anything in the morning.

I didn't exactly know what the "jittery" game meant.

Thanks for the timely response Blakhart!