TribesNext

TribesNext.com Forums => Support => Topic started by: Craig on January 09, 2009, 11:54:59 AM



Title: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Craig on January 09, 2009, 11:54:59 AM
---------------------------------------
Solution 1 Suggested by: 404notfound, Cat
---------------------------------------

Step 1: Download Imagecfg from here: http://www.robpol86.com/files/imagecfg.exe

Step 2: Place imagecfg.exe into your gamedata folder;
Default is    C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GameData

Step 3: Go To Start > Run then Type in Cmd

(http://CraigS.be/T2Affinity/Step1.JPG)

Step 4: Type in     cd C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GameData

(http://CraigS.be/T2Affinity/Step2.JPG)

Step 5: Type in     imagecfg.exe -a 0x1 Tribes2.exe

(http://CraigS.be/T2Affinity/Step3.JPG)

Step 6: Run the game and enjoy non jittery gameplay!!






---------------------------------------
Solution 2
---------------------------------------

Step 1: Download http://www.leweyg.com/download/Affinity.exe

Step 2: Place it into your C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\Gamedata\

Step 3: Create a new shortcut named play that goes to the Tribes2.exe (Dont forget the -online at the end) It should look something like this :
C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\Gamedata\Tribes2.exe -online
(http://CraigS.be/Scrn1.jpg)

Step 4: Create a new batch file with the following contents
Code:
@echo off

del .\base\scripts\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\autoexec\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\packs\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\turrets\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\vehicles\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\base\scripts\weapons\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1

del .\Classic\scripts\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\autoexec\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\packs\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\turrets\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\vehicles\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1
del .\Classic\scripts\weapons\*.dso 1> nul 2>&1

start affinity.exe play.lnk

cls
exit

Step 5: Create a shortcut to that batch file and put it on your desktop

Step 6: Enjoy!


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Cat on January 09, 2009, 11:59:37 AM
Or if you are using Vista you can use:
start /affinity 01 tribes2.exe


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Slayer1 on January 09, 2009, 11:22:34 PM
setting affinity is useful, if you have issues with dual core processors and T2.  since I have a dual core processor, and we've also tested a quad core processor, I am guessing that from the results, limiting to one proc is not a solution to anything.

IF you are going to do this anyway, I strongly recommend choosing secondary processor, and using SMPseesaw to make tribes 2 the ONLY thing (other than system-mandated services) running on that processor.  Yes, you heard right.  SMP seesaw pro (free) can dedicate a processor to solely one task or process.  This means that if you are going to "waste" time on locking affinity, you can at least maximize performance while doing so.

I like the batch idea, But SMP see saw is only like 3 mouse clicks to use.


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: 404notfound on January 11, 2009, 03:58:08 PM
So i took some time to find a solution and have found a way to automatically startup tribes2.exe under only one processor.

What's the advantage of doing all this compared to the much simpler method of using ImageCFG (http://www.robpol86.com/pages/imagecfg.php) to modify the T2 executable?


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Cat on January 22, 2009, 04:45:19 PM
What's the advantage of doing all this compared to the much simpler method of using ImageCFG (http://www.robpol86.com/pages/imagecfg.php) to modify the T2 executable?
I approve of this, ImageCFG helped me play System Shock 2. it is *the* ultimate solution.


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: teratos on January 23, 2009, 07:55:35 PM
I have a batch on the desktop:

Code:
CD C:\Dynamix\Tribes2\GamdeData
start /affinity 1 /abovenormal Tribes2.exe -  online -mod Classic

That's just a text file with those two lines named T2_online.bat


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Cat on January 25, 2009, 06:56:01 AM
start /affinity 1 /abovenormal Tribes2.exe -  online -mod Classic
That only works on Vista


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Faile on January 29, 2009, 06:39:56 AM
if you're running x64 windows, imagecfg is no longer the ultimate solution. ( patched image wont start )


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Shizuka on January 29, 2009, 07:57:34 AM
imagecfg fixed all my graphics and major stuttering problems on my desktop Vista (32-bit) box. Though it feels slightly more... jagged would be the description I guess, if there's a lot of people on screen, it's definitely worth it.


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Turkeh on January 30, 2009, 10:26:44 AM
Unstickied, and FAQ-ified here (http://www.tribesnext.com/forum/index.php?topic=473.0).


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: MrSleep on April 07, 2009, 04:29:34 PM
With Vista 64b, Q6600 @ 3GHz, 8GB RAM, 9600GT

Online and Solo games are the same.

Set the affinity to cpu core 1 - not much improvement
added the auto exec script - same.

With out the Tribes Next patch I was getting typically 200-300 fps.
With the patch I'm very jittery, my frame rate has dropped to 50-65 fps and I'm totally screwed when I'm in a melee where I go from jittery to massive shot lag etc.

Thanks for any help.
-Sleep

Doh!  I am running Vista SP2 RC - didn't affect the regular Tribes 2 - but maybe there's a problem with the service pack  :-\


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: MrSleep on April 21, 2009, 11:21:03 AM
I get the same jitter problems on my wife's system (XP SP3, 2.4GHz Core2Duo, 7600GT, 2GB RAM).  So - I dunno what's going on  :'(


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Shizuka on April 21, 2009, 11:59:21 AM
Tried setting it to the other core?
Did it have issues when affinity wasn't set at all?


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: MrSleep on April 21, 2009, 06:56:45 PM
Tried setting it to the other core?
Did it have issues when affinity wasn't set at all?

Only tried it with affinity set to cpu1 and affinity set to cpu1&cpu2.  I may just try setting up an older system that I have that I used to play T2 on (w/XP) and see where that gets me.


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: HAMMOND AIGZ on August 25, 2009, 09:43:59 PM
My friend is experiencing the same problem. He tried the task manager affinity route (dual core pentium D) to no avail. Also tried to add the .cs file mentioned in the FAQ.

Will the other core specific fixes have any other effect? Or do they all do the same thing.

Thanks in advance...


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: Blakhart on August 26, 2009, 05:27:03 AM
One thing to try is in the vid card driver control panel.
For nvid cards it's called threaded optimisation.
For ati cards, I can't remember what it is called.
Try the switch enabled and disabled and see if there's an improvement.


Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: HAMMOND AIGZ on August 26, 2009, 02:14:25 PM
Thanks for the advice, I will let him know and let you guys know what happened.



Title: Re: Automatic Affinity Solution
Post by: HAMMOND AIGZ on August 28, 2009, 08:27:17 AM
He tried everything to no avail, I think we have it down to a network issue, when he plays locally, smooth...

Thanks for your input and time